Two from MTA are Presidential Award winners

Two MTA members have been named recipients of the prestigious 2005 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Mathematics teacher Cathie Pollack, from Haverhill High School (left in photo), and science teacher June Thall (at right), from the Remington Middle School in Franklin, are being honored during an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., where they are attending celebratory events and professional development activities from May 2 to May 5.

Each will receive $10,000, and both will be invited to visit the White House. Nationwide, they are among only 100 teachers in grades seven through 12 to receive the prestigious award.

Established by Congress in 1983, the annual presidential awards program identifies highly qualified teachers who are recommended by a panel of mathematicians, scientists and educators.

John J. Marburger III, director of The Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, described the awardees as "our future leaders of innovation."

For more information, please visit