State educators participating in national leadership program

Nancy Barile Teachers can play a vital role in shaping curriculum and instructional practices, said Nancy Barile, pictured in her classroom at Revere High School.

Seventeen educators from Massachusetts are taking part in a pilot program that aims to prepare classroom teachers for leadership roles.

The National Education Association, the Center for Teaching Quality and the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards teamed up to create the Teacher Leadership Initiative. The program includes 150 educators from six states.

When teachers are called upon to be leaders, it’s often "baptism by fire,” said Nancy Barile, an English teacher at Revere High School who is participating in the program. Barile, a teacher for 19 years, noted the vital role that teachers can play in shaping curriculum and instructional practices alongside administrators.

Participating teachers will collaborate in person and online over the course of the year, using a curriculum that seeks to define the competencies of teacher leadership; develops methods to help teachers cultivate those competencies; and encourages teachers to be leaders.

In addition to Barile, of the Revere Teachers Association, the following MTA members are participating: Patrice Bucci of the Medford Teachers Association; Karyn Grace of the Cambridge Education Association; Linda Hanson of the Arlington Education Association; Heather Macpherson of the North Brookfield Education Association; Michael McCarthy of the Andover Education Association; Robert Michaud of the Andover Education Association; Mary Miles of the Marblehead Education Association; Dan Monahan of the Cambridge Education Association; Katherine Peretz of the Acton Education Association; Nicole Prevost of the Quincy Education Association; Jessica Rosenthal of the Stoughton Teachers Association; Lauren Updegrove – Greater Boston; and Laurie Wasserman of the Medford Teachers Association.

The Massachusetts educators will be collaborating with colleagues from Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Michigan and Mississippi.

Posted on Oct. 31, 2013.