Candidate Recommendation Committee

The MTA has a formal process for interviewing and evaluating candidates through its Candidate Recommendation Committee. The CRC consists of two MTA members elected from each of the state's nine congressional districts, as well as MTA's president, vice president and executive director-treasurer.

In a race for an open seat, candidates from all parties are invited to participate in the MTA's interview process. All candidates receive the association's questionnaire and are invited to be interviewed by a team of MTA members who represent the locals in the affected legislative districts. The candidate evaluation teams then make recommendations to the CRC for final approval.

When incumbent legislators are involved, the CRC reviews voting records to determine whether candidates have earned the MTA's recommendation.


CANDIDATE RECOMMENDATION COMMITTEE

Marc Lewis, Chair

CD 7

mlewis924@gmail.com

Kathleen Meltsakos, Vice Chair

CD 6

meltedbunch@comcast.net

Caroline Bresnahan

CD 1

bestgreataunt60@yahoo.com

Sue Fielding   

CD 1 

fielding123@verizon.net

Candace Shivers        

CD 2 

cshivers33@gmail.com

Leonard Zalauskas

CD 2

lenny.eaw@gmail.com

Eric Champy

CD 3

ejchampy@yahoo.com

Marilyn Bemis

CD 3

m_bemis@msn.com

Russell Brandwein

CD 4

russbrandwein@hotmail.com

Mary Ann Ziemba

CD 4

mziemba@hotmail.com

Maureen Fowler

CD 5

mbaggefowler@yahoo.com

Gerard Ruane

CD 5

gpruane@aol.com

Eric Forman

CD 6

erforman@comcast.net

Richard Goldberg

CD 7

richgold403@yahoo.com

Paul Toner

CD 7

pf.toner1@verizon.net

Beverly Saccocia

CD 8

 pocket2609@comcast.net

Anita Thompson

CD 8

anita.thompson@umb.edu

Michelle Dunn

CD 9

michelleedunn@yahoo.com

Anne Wass

CD 9

awass88@aol.com

MEMBERS EX OFFICIO

 

 

Barbara Madeloni, MTA  President

 

 bmadeloni@massteacher.org

Janet Anderson, MTA Vice President

 

 janderson@massteacher.org

Ann Clarke, MTA Executive Director-Treasurer

 

 aclarke@massteacher.org

MTA STAFF

 

 

Jo Blum, Director of Government Relations

 

jblum@massteacher.org

Cathy Fichtner, Government Relations Specialist

 

cfichtner@massteacher.org

Melissa Abber, Legislative Specialist

mabber@massteacher.org