NEA's nationwide call to action for repeal of the GPO and WEP

April 10-21, Members of Congress will return to their home states and districts for a two-week work period. NEA is calling on all activists to take this opportunity to bring attention to the need to repeal unfair Social Security Offsets.

Help spread the word to policymakers, the media, and the general public! Watch for additional information and an activity toolkit in the coming weeks, including a menu of possible activities you can coordinate in your community – such as meetings with Members of Congress, rallies, call-in days, postcard writing events, and press conferences.

Rep. McKeon Appointed Chair of Education Committee
With the election of Rep. John Boehner (R-OH) as Majority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives, Rep. Buck McKeon (R-CA) has been appointed Chair of the Committee on Education and the Workforce, a position previously held by Rep. Boehner. Rep. McKeon is the primary Republican sponsor of and a staunch advocate for the Social Security Fairness Act (H.R. 147/S.619), which would repeal the Government Pension Offset and Windfall Elimination Provision.

Rep. McKeon's ascension gives him more influence in House leadership decisions. The Social Security Fairness Act falls within the jurisdiction of the House Ways and Means Committee, not McKeon's Education and the Workforce Committee. However, as a committee chair and member of Majority Leader Boehner's "inner circle," Rep. McKeon will be in a strong position to advocate for the Social Security Fairness Act.

Cosponsors Reach All-Time High
The House version of the Social Security Fairness Act now boasts 305 bipartisan cosponsors. The latest cosponsors include:

James Clyburn (D-SC); Virginia Foxx (R-VA); Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-OH); Walter Jones (R-NC); Cynthia McKinney (D-GA); Charlie Rangel (D-NY); Jean Schmidt (R-OH); and Chris Shays (R-CT).

The Senate bill continues to have 24 bipartisan cosponsors.