Deadlines announced for MTA elections

MTA Resolutions are the organization’s statements of principle on issues relating to members, public education, the welfare of students and human and civil rights.

A proposed resolution may be submitted by any member.

The initial deadline for submissions to the Resolutions Committee is January 9. Proposed resolutions also may be submitted by the end of business on Friday at the Annual Meeting of Delegates.

The committee may also propose resolutions.

All resolutions submitted are considered by the committee, and those submitted by the January deadline are also brought before the Board of Directors. To become the official position of the MTA, resolutions must be adopted by the delegates at the Annual Meeting. A copy of the 2008-2009 Resolutions is posted here.

The 2008-2009 committee members are Chairman Ted Kempinski (Haverhill), Teresa Barut (Hampshire Regional), Kathleen Comer (Leicester), Janet Johnson (Barnstable), Diana Marcus (Burlington) and Dorothy Scally (Somerville). Laura Barrett is the staff consultant, and Janice Morrissey is the staff assistant.

For more information or to submit a resolution, contact Laura Barrett, 617-878-8267,, or by the mail at MTA, 20 Ashburton Place, Boston, MA, 02108.

Information on Bylaws

Information on MTA Elections