CEPP wins national awards

The awards were presented to the CEPP staff on Nov. 14 at the NSAII annual meeting in Hilton Head, S.C. NSAII is an organization that represents the policy, practice and professional development staff from NEA and the state affiliates.

Tomorrow’s Teachers: Preparing the Education Workforce for 21st Century Skills, an in-depth policy paper with specific recommendations on how to best prepare pre-service and new teachers for successful careers in public education, was awarded first place in the Written Product category.

Using TeLLS Data to Address Achievement Gaps, a manual designed to help facilitators and teams use the results from the recent Teaching, Learning and Leading Survey – TeLLS – to develop action plans, earned a first-place award in the Intensive School Improvement category. The work was funded by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and offered to districts through a collaboration with AFT Massachusetts, the Massachusetts Association of School Committees and the Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents.

The CEPP staff includes Director Kathleen J. Skinner, Professional Development Specialists Ralph Devlin, Beverly Miyares and Nora Todd and support staff Beverly Eisenman, Diane Gately and Jill Jackson. The MTA Professional Development Committee, CEPP associate staff and TeLLS facilitators also contributed to the award-winning initiatives.